I Have Something to Say About That…

Thoughts from Author Jenny Proctor

Presence

23 Comments

When my babies are still tiny, fresh with the newness of life, still sweet with tenderness, they spend the nighttime hours in a small bassinet beside my bed. It’s easier that way, having them close. Easier for feedings, and easier for my hand to rest on their chests, feeling the reassuring swell, up and down, as they breathe.

In those late, but actually early hours, dark with night, but still bright with love, I sit and nurse my baby. Sometimes, I marvel. I curl tiny fingers around my own. I trace tiny eyebrows. I smile at tiny baby noises that melt my heart. Other times, I doze uncomfortably, willing the little bundle of difficult to finish feeding so I can just get some sleep already, and mutter about the ridiculousness of needing to eat every two and a half hours in the first place…

My mood? Not very consistent at 2 AM. But there is one constant, a presence I know I can always rely on. Whenever I nurse, sitting cross legged on the bed, my husband reaches over and puts his hand on the small of my back. I am ill equipped to feed the baby, his hand says, but I’m here. I’m with you. I know that you’re up, that it isn’t always easy.

Many nights, that simple gesture of kindness tethers me to reality. Sometimes, it just helps to know there is someone there. I’m grateful that I know my husband well enough to recognize that gesture for what it is. It’s the little things, I think, that often make the biggest difference. But do we always recognize them? How often do we fail to see?

It’s been on my mind a lot lately – the need to see the little things. Not just in my relationship with  my husband, but in my relationship with God.

Do I recognize His presence?

Am I failing to see?

I have found that if I really look for it, I can see His presence in every single aspect of my life. His hand is there, on my back, all the time – leading, guiding, encouraging. But, oh! It’s so easy to grumble, to see the flaws, the difficulties, the misery of our own plight. We are alone, after all. These things that we are doing have to be done by someone, and it us that must do the job, and it is only us, and no one really understands, or will ever understand…

Except, wait. There it is. If I close my eyes, I can feel it. A light touch, a kind word, a supportive hand. He is there. He is everywhere. Always has been, and always will be. His presence is constant.

It is up to me to simply see.

23 thoughts on “Presence

  1. I know that I often don't think about those little gestures. I become too self-involved and I need to do better.

  2. coming out of lurking to tell you thank you for the good cry this morning…I needed to hear that…and what a sweet, sweet husband you have!

  3. 1. I like your new header. Nay, love it.2. I love hearing about people who love their husbands. It makes be sad when people moan and groan. My husband says he always has faith that his name is safe on my lips and I love that.

  4. You took the words right out of my mouth. Amazing post!

  5. Thats so nice of your husband not to ignore you during those times. I would appreciate that too…and thanks for the reminder about God being with us all the time. Heather from Mommy Only Has Two Hands! and Rescue Her!

  6. You got me crying . . .(Love the new look.)

  7. This is one of my favorite posts that you have done! Sometimes the spirit is so soft and quiet that we have to prepare ourselves to hear His voice and answer to His will. When I am looking for the small things that testify of His love, I always find them.

  8. Thanks a lot for making me cry. :)This is beautiful, and so true. Lately, I have especially been feeling overwhelmed by how much the Lord is in my life and how much I am cared for.

  9. Great reminder to slow down and take note of the presence around me.Beautiful post!

  10. Great reminder!! I NEED this!

  11. Thank you. I needed to hear that today.

  12. Thanks. I also needed to read that. And such a sweet husband.

  13. Love this post! So true. And I miss you. And the header looks great!

  14. Beautiful thoughts and feelings. My husband is my biggest fan, and that means everything, huh?

  15. A great reminder. Thanks. A very sweet gesture from your husband, too. Those little gestures do mean a lot.

  16. Great…now I need to redo my make up. I'm so glad I stumbled upon you today. This post was for me.

  17. Such a beautiful post, MommyJ. I love it!

  18. So well written, J. My husband and I have these same kinds of moments – although we've swapped breast feeding for chin hair plucking – and they really are the threads that weave our marriage together.I love the line from "Just the Way You Are" by Billy Joel:"Don't imagine you're too familiar, and I don't see you any more."I absolutely know that my husband still "sees" me, and honestly, it makes all the difference in the world.And extending the idea to the presence of the Divine in everything? Beautiful. Thought provoking. Perfect.

  19. I really connected with this post. Thank you.

  20. Second to last paragraph? Totally giving you an "amen" to that.Hey, when did you go and re-do the place? Looks good.

  21. the more you see the more there is to see…grace: it's everywhere! I work to focus my lens everyday!*Blessings*Libhttp://bit.ly/bIBH0V

  22. This is beautiful. What a sweet husband, too. Stopping by from Tuesdays Unwrapped.

  23. Hey i just came here to let you know about a service i offer. I offer cheap backlinks that can help you website rank significantly better on Google. Traffic is everything and to get decent traffic you need to rank well in the search engines. My service can help provide that, check out my site http://hellomotow.net/backlinks

Leave a Reply

