I Have Something to Say About That…

Thoughts from Author Jenny Proctor

A Pleasant Read

Leave a comment

Gone South, by Meg Moseley is about a woman who makes an impulsive decision to move south to the small town of Noble, Alabama where an old home, connected to her family’s history has gone up for sale. She buys the home, thinking her last name and connections to the house will help her fit in. She’s surprised when instead, she receives a less than friendly reception. Turns out her family’s history in Noble wasn’t exactly squeaky clean. But not everyone is unkind. An antiques dealer befriends her, as well as a 20 year old girl, Melanie, who is down on her luck and struggling to reconnect with her family, also residents of Noble.

I really loved the cover of this book. I found the characters to be generally likable and found the generosity and kindness of the main character inspiring. I was a little underwhelmed by the story line as a whole and wished for a little more conflict, a little more growing and stretching from the characters. I didn’t feel like I had much to root for, you know?

In the end, I considered this a pleasant read, and an easy way to spend an afternoon.

*I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. Which it is. Honest, I mean.

Leave a Reply

