I Have Something to Say About That…

Thoughts from Author Jenny Proctor

Greetings! It’s 2015.

Leave a comment

I guess technically it’s nearly 2016. I’m not sure where the time has gone. All I know is that every morning I’m dropping my oldest son off at the high school wondering how on earth I ever got here, old enough to have a kid that’s taller than me and only a few years away from being a grown up. I just had a friend tell me having a high schooler doesn’t make me old. It just means I’m in the prime of life. No one told me the prime of life would make me so tired!

11270653_10152811451980796_7687792292354093761_o

Having writer friends is the very best part of attending a writing conference.

So let’s talk writing news, shall we? Last spring I attended the 2015 LDStorymakers Conference where I served as Vice-chair of the conference and worked my tail off. It was, as always, an incredibly rewarding and satisfying experience. I’ve taken the reins as Chair of the 2016 conference which means I’m STILL working my tail off, but also? I’m having so much fun. I love this conference and all the people that attend and feel so, so fortunate that I get to be involved.

We just launched a brand new beautiful website. Would you like to see?

LDStorymakers Conference

Registration opens December 9th if you’re interested in attending. If you aren’t interested in attending, but have any aspiration to be a writer? You should be interested. It’s the best conference ever. Amen.

In book writing news, my publisher just picked up my next manuscript, a lovely romantic comedy called Love at First Note. It’s musical and fun and I’m so excited for everyone to read it. We’re slated for a March release which feels like it’s just around the corner. Care for a little teaser?

Concert violinist Emma Hill has left her high profile career as concertmaster of one of the nation’s premiere symphonies and moved home to Asheville, North Carolina. For a single Mormon girl? Pretty much dating suicide. Of course, Emma has her reasons. But a singles group spanning five hours, ten counties and 13 different wards and it still has less than ten people? Yeah. 

But then Elliott Hart, a pianist famous for crazy YouTube videos and contemporary mash-ups moves in next door. He’s Mormon, at least he’s got that going for him, but Emma is convinced he’s nothing but a giant ego that clearly plays the wrong kind of music. 

Of course, Emma and Elliott have more in common than they first realize. Their connection through music (and kissing) is intense, but dating someone famous brings challenges Emma doesn’t expect.Will sizzling chemistry and a little bit of Rhapsody in Blue be enough to keep her hanging on?

Sounds fun, right? Hopefully I’ll have a cover to share soon!

Leave a Reply

